GAP Junior Program

  Williamson Cup

  Launched in 1964, the Williamson Cup is regarded as one of the most prominent Junior events in the nation. It is two-day 36-hole, stroke play tournament that features competition among four-man teams from 11 state and regional golf associations. Fred E. Williamson, the event's namesake, was a founder of Winged Foot Golf Club in Mamaroneck, N.Y. He was Junior golf advocate and firm promoter of the game's rules, disciplines and traditions.

| History | Year-by-Year |

  Teams from the four original cities — New York, Philadelphia, Washington, D.C., and Buffalo — met at Winged Foot Golf Club in 1964 to institute the Williamson Cup Matches. Washington, D.C., won the competition.

  Philadelphia’s initial victory came in 1969, when Don DeAngelis, Rick Osberg, Steve Marshall and Rich Monkman traveled to Canada to win the cup at Sur Le Lac Country Club in Quebec, Canada. The Golf Association of Philadelphia holds seven Williamson Cup titles.

  The Williamson Cup Matches differ from usual Junior competition, in that it basically is a family affair. Players are houseguests of host club members. Social activities away from the golf club are chaperoned by those hosts. Family activities are designed to be the core of the experience for all contestants.

  In the competition, the low three scores of the four-man team for each round count. If there is a playoff, all four players’ scores count. A medallist plaque is awarded to the player with the lowest overall score.

  The Golf Association of Philadelphia has hosted the Williamson Cup on seven occassions, most recently in 2015 at Saucon Valley Country Club (Weyhill). Team GAP tied for third with the Pennsylvania Golf Association.

  For more information on the Williamson Cup, contact Chris Roselle, Tournament Director, at 610-687-2340 ext. 29 or via e-mail at

• Preview
• Recap
• Roster
• Team GAP experience

• Preview
• Recap